Home

 
 
Chase Summary  

Stats
The cold, hard numbers behind this chase.

Date
Friday, May 2, 2008
Length of Chase
10 hours
Distance Covered
399 miles
...for the year
879 miles
Chase Partner(s)
Barry Roberts
States traveled through
Alabama and Mississippi

Barry and I headed westward from Huntsville, AL via HW-72 and rather surprisingly, we quickly came upon a dying supercell that produced a brief funnel 6 miles west of Walnut, MS around 3:40 PM CDT (2040 UTC). We eventually met up with Dr. Bill McCaul in Walnut, MS and decided to pursue a pair of storms northwest of Tupelo, near Booneville. Although we were able to see some spectacular cloud-to-ground lightning, excellent structure, and a couple of wall clouds, the storms didn't produce any tornadoes near us. However, these storms did produce tornadoes earlier near the towns of New Albany and Keownville, and later on near Corinth. Check out the video below for time-lapse shots of the supercells.

Chase Videos  

Chase Route Map

Click the above thumbnail to view an enlarged route map. Our route is identified by the solid blue and orange lines.

Chase Videos  


Link


Chase Videos  
We observed this wall cloud moving north across HW-72, 6 miles west of Walnut around 3:40 PM CDT (2040 UTC). We observed this wall cloud moving north across HW-72, 6 miles west of Walnut around 3:40 PM (2040 UTC). Low and behold, a ragged funnel began to form. Low and behold, a ragged funnel began to form.
Funnel cloud protruding from south side of wall cloud Funnel cloud The funnel dissipated after a few minutes. Waiting in Walnut, Mississippi for additional storms to form
Now THIS is a weather enthusiast! (www.corinthweather.com) We positioned ourselves 7 miles south of Booneville, MS, at the intersection of I-45 and HW-30 to watch this supercell ("Storm #1" in the video)  pass to our north.  

Looking towards the WNW at 6:18 PM CDT (2318 UTC) The lightning was so frequent that I was actually able to capture some of the strikes my hand-held camera. We positioned ourselves 7 miles south of Booneville, MS, at the intersection of I-45 and HW-30 to watch this supercell ("Storm #1" in the video)  pass to our north.  

Looking towards the WNW at 6:18 PM CDT (2318 UTC)
Seven miles south of Booneville, MS, looking towards the NW as the supercell approaches I-45 (6:30 PM CDT, 2330 UTC) The supercell structure really started to look nice around  6:36 PM CDT (2336 UTC). The supercell structure really started to look nice around  6:36 PM CDT (2336 UTC) Despite producing a tornado earlier, the storm wasn't able to get its act together near our location.  Once it passed over I-45, we abandoned the storm in pursuit of "Storm #2" to the southwest.
Despite producing a tornado earlier, the storm wasn't able to get its act together near our location.  Once it passed over I-45, we abandoned the storm in pursuit of "Storm #2" to the southwest. We positioned ourselves ~6 miles west of I-45, between Highway 30 and Highway 370, and watched the second storm approach (7:06 PM CDT, 0006 UTC). We positioned ourselves ~6 miles west of I-45, between Highway 30 and Highway 370, and watched the second storm approach (7:09 PM CDT, 0009 UTC) We positioned ourselves ~6 miles west of I-45, between Highway 30 and Highway 370, and watched the second storm approach (7:15 PM CDT, 0015 UTC).  Here's Barry taking a picture near his truck.
As the storm neared our location, we fell back eastward to I-45 and Highway 370.  As with Storm #1, we witnessed a well-defined wall cloud, lots of cloud-to-ground lightning, and some mean-looking scud, but no tornado (7:27 PM CDT, 0027 UTC). A wall cloud approaches I-45, approximately 8 miles south of Booneville, MS (7:28 PM CDT, 0028 UTC). Wall cloud illuminated by cloud-to-ground lightning (7:31 PM CDT, 0031 UTC) Wall cloud illuminated by cloud-to-ground lightning (7:31 PM CDT, 0031 UTC)
7:43 PM CDT (0043 UTC) 7:44 PM CDT (0044 UTC)    

 

 

This page has been viewed 3775 times since May 28, 2008

All photographs and content are Copyright 2002-2017 Kevin M. McGrath, unless otherwise noted. All rights reserved. Please use only with permission.

Copyright Notice | Search | Site Map | Guestbook | Live Weather